



- From 1810 to 1893, Hawaii was an independent kingdom (ruled by a king).
- The eight stripes are alternating white, red and blue and represent the eight main islands of Hawaii.
- The British flag, found at the upper left corner, and the red, white and blue stripes of the United States were said to please merchant shippers from both countries.
- Adopted as the state flag in 1959, but was commissioned for design by King Kamehameha I in the 1800's.