

Coat of arms of Australia

Adopted 19 September 1912

The shield with Symbols of Australia's six states is the central feature of a coat of arms. The border of the shield symbolises federation. The kangaroo and emu are the native animals that hold the shield with pride. A gold Commonwealth Star sits above the shield. Six of the star's points represent the Australian states. The seventh point represents the territories. A wreath of gold and blue sits under the Commonwealth Star. Gold and blue are the Commonwealth Coat of Arms' livery or identifying colours. Australia's floral emblem, the golden wattle, frames the shield and supporters.

